For many of you, you may be thinking that the best present for a cyclist would be a shiny new bike, maybe even two, some new wheels, new cycling kit, or something cycling related. Maybe even a monkey! For me this year, it was a present that money just could not buy, nor could anything replace this gift, and it did not cost a cent!

Now, I am not being ungrateful for the gifts that I did receive, because I received some pearlers from my family, Sarah and her family, and from friends, but the biggest one this year was getting to see my daughter. I have not seen her pretty much since just before last Christmas, so when I was given the opportunity to see her again for a little while this year, I jumped at the chance.

I took the Dadman with me, as I wanted to share this time with him too, as she is not just my only child, but she is also his only grand daughter. We went out on the morning of the 24th, and I was extremely nervous and stressed about it, as I could not be sure if she would want to see us when we got there, and how she would react when we did get there. Naturally, she too was the same, and it is very understandable that she would be nervous.

I was amazed at how much she had grown up since I last saw her, she really is quite the young woman now, and we had a pretty good chat for an hour or so. She has a great sense of humour, so we were able to muck around, and it was like music to the ears to hear her laughing. There were some bits and pieces I had to pick up from the house, and she was helping with all of that, and it was pure awesome to be so close to her again. She even took us into her room to show us how it looks now, and whilst she was saying that it was messy, she really had it looking good, and it was not at all messy like many teenagers rooms can be!

I was thrilled to be able to see her, and to be able to tell her face to face just how much i love her, and how much I miss her. I was able to let her know face to face just how special I think she is, how important she is to me, and that if she ever wants to see me, or catch up again, all she has to do is call, and I will be there. When i hugged her, I did not want to let her go, as letting go meant that I would not see her again for a while, and I just don’t know how long it will take for her to want to see me again.

I was quite surprised myself by just how much seeing her really did rock me, and how deeply I was affected by it. Driving the Dadman back home was a bit of a blur, and he was as equally moved as I was. We both got to have a photo with her, which was really special, as it gives you something physical from the visit that you can take away with you, and we were both just so thankful for that.

When Sarah got home and I started to tell her about how awesome it was to see my daughter again, I was surprised at how emotional I became. I don’t know how long til she will want to see me again, but I really do hope that it will be sooner than next Christmas.

Me and my girl, so very proud of her, and what she has achieved so far.

Me and my girl, so very proud of her, and what she has achieved so far.

The Dadman was just so thrilled to see Shorty too. Best xmas present for him for a very long time too.

The Dadman was just so thrilled to see Shorty too. Best xmas present for him for a very long time too.